This is a rewrite of the ending to “Dreaming or Riding the Tiger” published here on 28 January 2017 re-titled as The Gates of Hell

Just Another Day of Flying Free

 

Am I dreaming this or is it for real?

I just got to Woodstock and I’m sure that I’m lost

Here’s a crowd of robot-people I’ve never met before.

Please tell me; what’s the fucking deal?

 

It’s a real weird party without a damn host

Look at all their phony plastic faces

Blathering around the kitchen table

With cocaine spackled nostrils to boost

 

Oh wow! Tell me something

Is there acid in this punch?

You look like you’re melting

Into something made for lunch.

 

Oh Jesus! It’s that Rasputin priest?

Crazy-eyed, howling, spitting beast?

I’m slipping and sliding off of the mat,

Into the witch bitch’s brewing vat

 

Now I’m falling off the damn roof

Sliding back from whence I came

Is this my dream of a cloven hoof

Where I’m exhausted, broken; spent and lame

 

These goddam pills are fucking killing me

They make me so dull I can’t even count

But Riding the Tiger gives me The Scare

Afraid I’m too terrified to dismount

 

Riding the Tiger to the Gates of Hell

Straight to my Death, pell mell!

 

Peter Mark Wells-Garnett © 28 February 2017

 

Chipped 'n' Dented

Just Another Day at the Bipolar Motel

Am I dreaming this or is it for real?

I just got to Woodstock and I’m sure that I’m lost

Here’s a crowd of robot-people I’ve never met before.

Please tell me; what’s the fucking deal?

It’s a real weird party without a damn host

Look at all their plastic phony faces

Blathering around the kitchen table

With cocaine spackled nostrils to boast

Oh wow! Tell me something

Is there acid in this punch?

You look like you’re melting

Into something made for lunch.

Oh Jesus! Isn’t it that Rasputin priest?

Crazy-eyed, howling, spitting beast?

I’m slipping and sliding off of the mat,

Into the witch bitch’s brewing vat

Now I’m falling off the damn roof

Sliding back from whence I came

Is this my dream of a cloven hoof

Where I’m exhausted, broken; spent and lame

These goddam pills are fucking killing…

View original post 45 more words

