Can you see . . . a rainbow dying?
Can you hear . . . a storm-cloud scud?

Perhaps . . . you can and perhaps you cry . . .

Me? . . . I don’t know . . . I REALLY. . . DON’T! . . .shh . . know.

Can you touch . . . shh . . the dark . . shh . . of night?

Can you taste . . . shh . . the light shh . . of day?

Perhaps you can . . . but; perhaps you DEAD!

Me? . . . I dunno . . . Oh God! .  . I REALLY . . . DON’T! . . .shh. . know . . .

y’know. . . little children cry . . . to see . . . a Rainbow die?

dy’know. . . fishermen shout “OH GOD!” . . . when a storm cloud looms. . .  up HIGH?

Shhh . . lovers’ caress a velvet nighttime’s skin . . . . shh

Mmmm . . Passion kisses a gold sunrise . . . shh MMmmm. . .

. . . mmm I’m pretty sure . . . mmm. . . I believe it’s so . . . NO!

Don’t SAY IT! . . . . . ‘cos I really, really . . don’t . . . know . . .

Oh God . . . I can’t do these . . . things . . . no . . .

God knows! . . . I’m I.N.C.O.M.P.L.E.T.E. . . . less than; aaaargh!

My SOUL! . . . twists in . . . LOATHING! . . . In FEAR! . . .

Loathing of . . . living . . Fear . . of . . . dying . . .

hear me; . . touch me; . . feel me; . . TASTE me; . . .

I’m gone! . . . . floating . . . in limbo . . . marking . . time. . . .

Blinded; . . . Deafened; . . . Starved; . . . Muted; . . .  NUMBED!

Just . . . . Silently . . .

SCREAMING! . . .

that which . . no-one can hear .. . . . .

Copyright c Peter Mark Garnett; March 2004

____________________________________________________________________

 

 

